3萬

帖子

9萬

積分

論壇元老

積分
發表於 2018-6-14 19:59:03 | 顯示全部樓層 |閱讀模式
分享到: 更多
By Javone Vickerie  As my former English teacher told me once during a class “many of us grow old but only a selected few get to be 100 not out”. At the Gentle Women’s Association I met a remarkable woman on Friday whom I will remember for years to come.As a journalist, I am always ecstatic about interviewing centenarians because you get to know a lot more than what your parents or grandparents usually tell you about the past. I remembered one time a centenarian told me that he met the late President of Guyana, Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham. There are only a selected few Guyanese who met that man.So I was assigned to interview a woman by the name of Iris Cox who resided at the Gentle Women’s Association located on Brickdam, opposite the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company.Iris CoxSo there I was recorder, camera and notepad ready to record everything I needed to know about this woman whom I was elated to meet the day before her birthday.As I opened the door to her room there she was, sitting in a chair in front of the television while her head rested back in a comfy chair and her caretaker who welcomed me to sit and proceed with my interview.As anxious as I was to learn what she was in her younger days, the caretaker briefed me that this very frail lady suffered from memory loss and that I needed to keep asking her questions as her memory came back to her.“Mrs. Cox the guy from the newspaper is here to interview you for a special on your 100th birthday tomorrow (Friday) so you need to talk to them about your life, ok so be nice,” the caretaker told Ms. Cox.“Be nice” is not something I expected a caretaker to say but the words which came out of this woman’s mouth made me realize why she said that.“Who come to talk me? Why they come to mind me business, it deh in the archives let them check it there if they want know about me,” Mrs. Cox said in a very strong voice.At that moment this woman refuse