10萬

積分

論壇元老

積分
跳轉到指定樓層
樓主
發表於 2017-2-27 13:11:56 | 只看該作者 回帖獎勵 |倒序瀏覽 |閱讀模式
分享到: 更多
By Michael Benjamin As a lad attending primary school I had developed a penchant for reading and would frequent the library and bookstores in search of good material. I started off with the ‘Archie’ and ‘Jughead’ comics shortly before an introduction to the ‘Tin Tin’ series.By the time I graduated to Secondary School I became engrossed in the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew series, genres that highlighted the investigative propensities of those characters.As I entered secondary school I meandered to mature literature and ‘Miguel Street’ and ‘The Year in San Fernando’ among other literary materials decked my bookshelf. Shortly afterwards I graduated to Mickey Spillane, J T Edson, the ‘Sudden’ series and Louis L’amour. The latter three western genres spiked my curiosity as the plots emphasized the vagaries of justice. However, the stars of those books meted out justice over the barrel of a Winchester or Smith and Wesson.The cowboy characters rode with two pistols at their sides while a belt of slugs strapped their waists. A Winchester slung across their shoulders or in some cases, at the side of their horses completed the getup. Ironically, it was a crime to carry a concealed weapon; one was required to have their weapons strapped to their waists or otherwise in clear public view.Those cowboys solved disputes in the most unorthodox of ways and most times it was the man with the fastest draw that survived. Remember ‘Gunfight at OK Corral?’ Of course, even amidst such freedom to bear arms,Cheap Washington Nationals Jersey Jerseys, there were those cowards who, scared to engage in fair fights, hid along the trails and bushwhacked their adversaries. Nowadays carrying firearms without the requisite permission,Cheap Chicago White sox Jersey Jerseys, whether concealed or in plain view, is illegal yet the bushwhacking continues,Cheap Los Angeles Dodgers Jersey Jerseys, only this time it is referred