9萬

積分

論壇元老

積分
跳轉到指定樓層
樓主
發表於 2017-7-2 17:37:47 | 只看該作者 回帖獎勵 |倒序瀏覽 |閱讀模式
分享到: 更多
By Leonard GildarieCrime, flooding,LeBron James USA Jersey, the state of the economy, and those infamous 100-day promises by the new Government – that about sums it up for what has been dominating the headlines in recent times.I have grown up in Guyana. I know hardship. I recalled lining up for food and other commodities in the ‘80s. I recall having very few clothes and doing without because we simply could not afford. I have said it over and over again. I am no expert at anything, but my experiences have given me a right to speak my mind. I will not give up that right for anything. Our country should boast of this democratic right and fight to keep it.Leonard GildarieI have been advised to take my family and leave Guyana after well ventilated events over the past year. I love this country too much. I have been offered jobs. I refused. I like my independence at Kaieteur News too much. I love what I am doing. I have seen changes made with just the publication of something I have written.I have made peace with myself a long time ago that we all have a purpose, a time on earth. We should make it count. It makes me happy when persons call and say thank you. I would tell them it is my job.But it has made me angry that for years we have tolerated or fostered an attitude that nothing changes. That we can tolerate bribery and say nothing because as the boys say, that is life pun de dam. We tolerate flooding year after year. We tolerate mediocre service and say that nothing can change.I will choose one topic for this week- crime. My father, a policeman, was killed in January 1980 while on the job.This morning I will be at Eve Leary to attend the annual wreath-laying ceremony for fallen police officers. I find it an honour. When he died, it left my mother broken up for years. Although she remarried,Authentic Kentavious Caldwell-Pope Pistons Jersey, that traumatic loss always stayed with her. Sh